Anime Freak

At the start of the summer my cousin, Mary, came to visit my family. She told me about an interesting anime she watched called, “Fullmetal Alchemist”. A strange show about two brothers who do stuff as alchemists (of course she told me more but I’m big about no spoilers). When she left I started watching it and I was HOOKED.

After Fullmetal I watched a show called “Soul Eater” which turned into “Ouran High School Club” which became “Soul Eater”, “D. Gray-man”, “One Piece”, “Fairy Tail” and bunch more. I watched all of these animes only over this summer..

Along the way I picked up an appreciation for voice actors. After watching many of the animes I would also research most of the actors that had voice the characters. I came across so many inspiring people I have come to be inspired by: Vic Mignogna, Todd Haberkorn, Travis Willingham, Troy Baker, Caitlin Glass, Tara Strong, Laura Bailey,  Jeremy Shada, and so on and so forth (there’s just too many to mention all of them).

Image
Honey just brings the adorbs.

My obsession with voice actors has started me on a path of some what constant anime viewings.

My friend who was into anime (way) before I was decided to start a little friendship anime project where we watched an anime together and fangirl-ed over it. We watched “Ouran High School Host Club” together. I think we started watching it because we saw it on Netflix and I remember seeing Ouran High among Vic Mignogna’s Filmography so I figured it would be awesome..

“Ouran High School Host Club” is a great show but at first it was the strangest, most uncomfortable anime to watch with your best friend ever. It starts with a boy accidentally breaking a vase to other boys in club taking off their shirt.  “Ouran High School Club” is hilarious, don’t get me wrong, and Vic Mignogna and Caitlin Glass are amazing in it. The humor roots from uncomfortable situations and making fun of anime cliches, so it was sort of uncomfortable when the pair of twins among the club fondled each other during a joke.

We never really fangirl-ed over it and if we did it was mostly me.

Most of the animes I got into, I watched with my brother who’s now in college. It kind of explains why I’m mostly into more action-y animes than my friend who prefers comedy animes. To be honest, in a plot line it would only make sense to  have some serious violent-past-backstory-type relationship with…  pretty much ALL the characters like in “Gunslinger Girl” and “Fullmetal Alchemist”.

Speak Up!

