When the Curtains Lower

Have you noticed that lately the frequency of my posts have declined and there are less illustrations and maybe more shallow topics about surface things? …That might be indicative of my declining inspiration.
I’ve been feeling as if I’m swimming through a heaping pile of jello and after all this time it feels as if I’m stuck. It feels as if there’s nothing else to talk about as if I’ve covered everything I wanted or needed to talk about.

I’ve hit this kind of creative block before–I’m sure most creatives have–and I’ve powered through it and eventually came out the other side stronger and with a much needed new perspective. Although for now it feels like I’m approaching a bland white concrete wall faced with the task of designing something–anything–on it with any materials I want… but I just can’t seem to even get the paint on the wall. My mind is so flooded with conflictions and projects and anxieties and tasks and fears that my creativity can’t make its way through.
Maybe I’m terrified that I’m stuck in a rut. Maybe I’m scared that I’ll never improve as an artist or change as a person. Maybe the future has got me head locked and suspended uncomfortably in mid-air. I don’t know. But whatever it is, it’s inhibiting my ability to post here weekly.
I’d like to attribute that to the fact that my posts are becoming more complex and the fact that I’m putting more effort, forethought and time into them but the real reason is the fact that I’m just running out of things to say, to feel truly passionate about…but I’d like to believe that soon it’ll all come rushing back to me and that this may only last a few weeks, months at the most.

I truly don’t know what might happen in the future, but for now I’ll have (more often than not) have an Illustration Friday post to stay on the weekly schedule and legitimate posts with illustrations and everything laced within when the inspiration hits.

Just know that you can always reach me via Twitter, and via email (jubnuggets@gmail.com) and below in the comments if you have comments suggestions or opinions to help me improve the site/content/art .

Speak Up!

