Reasons I Didn’t Go to PRIDE Parade

Trigger Warning: transphobia, racism, mentions of violence, bullying

This isn’t something about how I’m shaming those of you who have attended and support and love PRIDE parade. This and everything on my entire blog is entirely my opinion and if you don’t have the same opinion as me then, that’s perfectly fine, I respect you and your opinion even if I may not agree with you and I ask that you share that same respect with me.
So without further ado, let’s just jump into this.

Today marks the 25th annual Austin PRIDE Parade, a fun celebration of…something, I’m assuming pride.

This year I have intentionally decided to not attend pride–BUT VIAN DON’T YOU IDENTIFY AS LGBTQIA+???

Oh! Rando reader! You are totally right! I do…but not always pridefully. It’s hard to celebrate pride in who I am..when I’m not always proud of who I am.

On the fourth day of school I was stereotyped as a “model minority” and consequentially shamed for my culture. It’s hard to be proud of a good grade or looking cute in glasses when you’re constantly worrying that you’re holding up racist stereotypes by simply existing.

It’s hard to be proud of my gender when my mom asked  if she “raised me wrong” when I came out to her. It’s hard to stand up tall when the transgender panic defense consistently excuses the actions of cold blooded murderers on the grounds of transphobia.

I’m not privileged with the ability to forget my identities because I hear them talked about, shamed, tokenized, stereotyped, argued about, policed ALL the time. My race is the first thing people see, which forces me to be hyper aware of my actions; what I say, what I do, everything because you never know if it’ll set off a racist or transphobic tangent about how “I should go back to my country” or how I’m not “trans enough.”

I’m not even proud of the state of LGBTQIA+ issues. The majority of social justice that exists is focused primarily on white people. Non intersectional social justice is more prevalent while other issues are being erased like BlackLivesMatter, NotOneMoreTransMurder, I Stand with Planned Parenthood, and the list goes on and on because…we’re not done yet. Marriage Equality was a big huge step in the right direction but remember how the Supreme Court ruling was 5-4…I wouldn’t be surprised if another similar case came up in the courts again.

We’re not even close to being done.

And sure, the existence of Pride Parades were prevalent even before Marriage Equality was legalized but for me, personally, I’m not really in a celebratory mood.

For me, there’s nothing really to celebrate.

Speak Up!

